2017 Annual Meeting & Luncheon




William McNary
Citizen Action/Illinois 


William McNary is the Co-Director for Citizen Action/Illinois, the state’s largest public interest organization, and serves as the Legislative Chair of the Responsible Budget Coalition.

A lifelong advocate, McNary was a founding member of Health Care for America Now!, the largest national grassroots health care coalition which led to the successful passage of the Affordable Care Act, and served as the founding president of USAction, one of the nation’s largest coalitions of progressive grassroots organizations.

McNary was recently awarded the Illinois Education Association’s “Friend of Education Award.”  He has a degree in journalism and communications from the University of Iowa. 



Loretta P. Lacey Maternal and Child Health Researcher Award
Anne Marie Murphy, Ph.D.
Executive Director - Metropolitan Chicago Breast Cancer Task Force 

For her longstanding commitment to reduce women's healthcare disparities.


AnneMarie pic

Loretta P. Lacey Maternal and Child Health Community Advocate Award

Gary Hall
Lifelong community advocate - Peoria, IL
For his tireless efforts to advocate for affordable, accessible healthcare for all.



Gary Hall

Dr. Garry Gardner Healthcare Provider Award
Gloria E. Barrera, MSN, RN, PEL-CSN
School Nurse and Adjunct Professor of Nursing - DePaul University, Chamberlain College of Nursing, and Capella University

For her commitment to her students and their families in School District #229



Gloria Barrera